Crane versus SUV

11-IMG_1815_edited-1

12-IMG_1818_edited-1

17-IMG_1933_edited-2

13-IMG_1862_edited-1

15-IMG_1881_edited-2

I came home from work the other day to find a Sandhill crane in the street. It looked like he had the remains of a dragonfly in his beak. I ran to get the bird some corn. He started eating that, but soon lost interest and began pecking on something else: my 1999 Lexus.
He kept at it for 10 or 15 minutes before I ran him off, thinking he was putting little dents in my car. I don’t know why he was suddenly so taken with my car. Maybe he was jabbing away at his own reflection. Or snapping up love bugs. Whatever the case, the bird came back later to attack my car again and lingered around long enough to leave several piles of bird poo on the drive. Ah, the joys of nature…
See more photos here and a video of the beast here.

Leave a Reply

